Sips from the bottle of stress.

Dumebi Ofili
3 min readApr 17, 2023

--

Life update:

✅ moved to an ancient city.

✅ started a new job that I love

✅ made new friends

My last blog to you informed you of my woes, especially how indecisive I was about my Housejob placement.

Well, I threw in the towel and lost faith about going to Abuja to work. However, looking at it now on my first day at work, God has made this process seamless, no hassle, just Ease and Jehovah vibes. What if this was really his big plan? That I start at a time like this and in a place that rarely crossed my mind. I hope in retrospect I find God in the deets, with enough evidence to support this. I didn’t lose faith in God, I lost faith in willing God’s will to my will.

Here’s another really tired look of me

Over the weekend I took a 3 hours ride to this ancient city and driving through the gates into my home for the next 52 weeks made me feel mushy. I got help from my old friends, met up with an online friend, Sas who was my tour guide for the evening. I wish I can say the tour helped me beyond the first 10 minutes in the hospital premises, this morning. But the kindness counts for something.

Turning in circles in the name of clearance and being met by kind smiles was the highlight of my day! Meeting fellow new house officers like me who were just as friendly was another highlight for the day. Getting posted to Internal medicine as a part of the endocrinology department made me feel like I was born to do this. Mind you I am already seeing ‘shege’ but I am super excited, I will start earning money 🙈 and I will gain so much experience.

I plan to make the most of this one year, be the best Doctor I can be and walk on a more defined path by the grace of God. Tech? I pray I don’t temporarily put it on hold. Here has a good power supply, it’s remaining a functional laptop.

Dee welcome to your best year, so far. And y’all are welcome to my open diary, I will document all about my HJ journey. For now, Pilot call (where I shadow an older doctor during calls and learn basic and essential hands-on skill) beckons on me. See you guys in a bit.

--

--

Dumebi Ofili

Believer| Medicine- Interventional Radiology| Tech- AI Enthusiast| WordWeaver| On my way to being world class.